US Postage Stamps // Philatelic Project // The Federal States


Montana // Helena, MT // Western Region // Mountain Time
(The Treasure State, The Big Sky Country)
Territory established: May 28, 1864
Statehood granted: November 8, 1889 // 41st state
Montana was formed out of land from the Louisiana Purchase (1803)
and the British cession (1846).
[View map of US territorial acquisition]

#4304 // April 16, 2010
(self-adhesive coil definitive)
Flags of Our Nation Series
Montana State Flag
mountain lion in the snow
#1978 // Apr 14, 1982
(ex pane of 50 different stamps)
State Bird & Flower of
Western Meadowlark
(Sturnella neglecta)
and Bitterroot
#1673 // February 23, 1976
(ex pane of 50 different stamps)
American Bicentennial Series
Montana State Flag

#858 // November 8, 1939 // Helena, MT
50th Anniversary of Statehood
(North Dakota, South Dakota,
Montana, Washington)

Maps of the Anniversary States
#2401 // January 15, 1989 // Helena, MT
Montana Statehood

"C. M. Russel and Friends",
painting by Charles Marion Russel
(* 1865, † 1926),
US American painter of the
Old American West

#3586 // April 4, 2002
(ex pane of 50 stamps, one for each state)
Greetings from Montana

Illustration of contemporary postcard
in the style of the 1930s/1940s

View Montana state quarter
View Montana state map
View Montana clock

The state name derives from the Spanish word "montaña",
which means "mountains".
Montana is the home of the Grasshopper Glacier,
named for the grasshoppers that can still be seen frozen in ice.
Land Area
rounded mi2 [km2]
145,552 [376,978]
ranked 4th
(census 2010)
ranked 44th
Population Density
per mi2 [km2] of land area
7 [3]
ranked 49th
The State of Montana has 56 counties.
Montana shares in the north on the 49th parallel a 545-mile-long [877 km]
international border with the Canadian provinces of
British Columbia (BC), Alberta (AB) and Saskatchewan (SK).


// Elmar R. Göller // All rights reserved // Contact // Publishing Information