US Postage Stamps // Philatelic Project // The Federal States


North Dakota // Bismarck, ND // Midwest Region // Central/Mountain Time
(The Peace Garden State)
Dakota Territory established: March 2, 1861
Statehood granted: November 2, 1889 // 39th state
North Dakota was formed out of land from the Louisiana Purchase (1803),
and land from the British cession (1818).
[View maps of Dakota evolution]

#4312 // April 16, 2010
(self-adhesive coil definitive)
Flags of Our Nation Series
North Dakota State Flag
and herd of grazing elk
#1986 // April 14, 1982
(ex pane of 50 different stamps)
State Bird & Flower of
North Dakota
Western Meadowlark
(Sturnella neglecta)
and Wild Prairie Rose
#1671 // February 23, 1976
(ex pane of 50 different stamps)
American Bicentennial Series
North Dakota State Flag

#858 // November 2, 1939 // Bismarck, ND
50th Anniversary of Statehood
(North Dakota,
South Dakota,
Montana and Washington)

Maps of the Anniversary State
#2403 // February 21, 1989 // Bismarck, ND
North Dakota Statehood

Grain Elevator on the Prairie

#3594 // April 4, 2002
(ex pane of 50 stamps, one for each state)
Greetings from North Dakota

Illustration of contemporary postcard
in the style of the 1930s/1940s

View North Dakota state quarter
View North Dakota state map
View North Dakota clock

The state name "Dakota" is the Sioux Indian word for "friend".
Land Area
rounded mi2 [km2]
68,976 [178.647]
ranked 17th
(census 2010)
ranked 48th
Population Density
per mi2 [km2] of land area
10 [4]
ranked 48th
The State of North Dakota has 53 counties.
North Dakota shares in the north on the 49th parallel a 310-mile-long
(499 km) international border with the Canadian provinces of
Saskatchewan (SK) and Manitoba (MB).


// Elmar R. Göller // All rights reserved // Contact // Publishing Information