US Postage Stamps // Philatelic Project // The Federal States


South Dakota // Pierre, SD // Midwest Region // Central/Mountain Time
(The Mount Rushmore State)
Dakota Territory established: March 2, 1861
Statehood granted: November 2, 1889 // 40th state
South Dakota was formed out of land from the Louisiana Purchase.
[View maps of Dakota evolution]

#4321 // August 11, 2011
(self-adhesive coil definitive)
Flags of Our Nation Series
South Dakota State Flag
and herd of bisons
#1993 // April 14, 1982
(ex pane of 50 different stamps)
State Bird & Flower of
South Dakota
Ring-Necked Pheasant
(Phasianus colchicus)
and Pasqueflower
#1672 // February 23, 1976
(ex pane of 50 different stamps)
American Bicentennial Series
South Dakota State Flag

#858 // November 2, 1939 // Pierre, SD
50th Anniversary of Statehood
(North Dakota,
South Dakota,
Montana and Washington)

Maps of the Anniversary States
#2416 // May 3, 1989 // Pierre, SD
100th Anniversary of
South Dakota Statehood

Pasque Flowers,
Pioneer Woman and
Sod House on Grasslands

#3601 // April 4, 2002
(ex pane of 50 stamps, one for each state)
Greetings from South Dakota

Illustration of contemporary postcard
in the style of the 1930s/1940s

View South Dakota state quarter
View South Dakota state map
View South Dakota clock

The state name "Dakota" is the Sioux Indian word for "friend".
Land Area
rounded mi2 [km2]
75,885 [196.541]
ranked 16th
(census 2010)
ranked 46th
Population Density
per mi2 [km2] of land area
11 [4]
ranked 47th
The State of South Dakota has 66 counties.
In 1959, following the admission of Alaska and Hawai'i to the Union, the US Coast and Geodetic survey officially designated a point 20.8 miles (33,474 km) north of the ranch town Belle Fourche, Butte County, western South Dakota, as the Geographic Center of the Nation's fifty states. The point is located on an uninhabited parcel of private pastureland. The coordinates are at Latitude 44° 58' N, and Longitude 103° 46' W.

The ZIP code turned 50 in 2013

Stamped Cards 


#UX120 // March 28, 1988 // Buffalo, WY
Stamped Postal Card
America the Beautiful Series

American Buffalo and Prairie

South Dakota's Annual Custer State Park Buffalo Roundup held end of September.

National Memorial 


Mount Rushmore
National Memorial

Mount Rushmore National Memorial is a gigantic sculpture carved into a granite cliff located near Keystone, Pennington County, in the Black Hills of South Dakota. The sculpture shows the faces of four American Presidents - George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln.
The meorial was designed by the Danish-American artist and sculptor Gutzon de la Mothe Borglum (* 1867, † 1941). In 1927, Borglum began guiding 400 workers using drills and dynamite in shaping the sculpture. After his death in March 1941, his son, Lincoln, supervised the finishing process until completion of the monument in October 1941. Mount Rushmore National Memorial is a popular tourist destination with nearly three million (in 2012) visitors each year.

#1011 // August 11, 1952
25th Anniversary of
the Dedication of
Mount Rushmore
National Memorial
#C88 // January 2, 1974
Air Mail Stamp
Shrine of Democracy

Stylized Sculpture
of the four presidents
#4268 // June 6, 2008
Priority Mail Stamp
with Microprint "USPS"

Mount Rushmore

Painting of the sculpture

#2523 // March 1, 1991 // Mt. Rushmore, SD
Regular issue (engraved)
#2523A // July 4, 1991 // Mt. Rushmore, SD
Regular issue (photogravure)
Flag over ..... Series

US Flag over Mount Rushmore

The heads of the following four US Presidents are blasted and carved from
the white rock of Mount Rushmore in 5,725 feet (1.745 m) above sea level.
George Washington
(* 1732, † 1799),
First US President,
in office 1789 - 1797
Thomas Jefferson
(* 1743, † 1826),
Third US President,
in office 1801 - 1809
Theodore Roosevelt
(* 1858, † 1919),
26th US President,
in office 1901 - 1909
Abraham Lincoln
(* 1809, † 1865),
16th US President,
in office 1861 - 1865
(American civil war)


// Elmar R. Göller // All rights reserved // Contact // Publishing Information