US Postage Stamps // Philatelic Project // The Federal States


Delaware // Dover, DE // Middle Atlantic Region // Eastern Time
(The First State)
New Sweden colony established: March, 1638 by Peter Minuit and the New Sweden Company
English conquest: September 30, 1664
by Sir Robert Carr
Part of Pennsylvania colony: 1681 - 1703
Independence declared[1]: June 15, 1776
Union admittance: December 7, 1787 // 1st state
[1] Delaware was formed out of the "Lower Counties on the Delaware"
(New Castle, Kent, and Sussex), a region of the Province of Pennsylvania.

[Display overwiew of states formed out of the original 13 colonies]

#4282 // June 14, 2008
(self-adhesive coil definitive)
Flags of Our Nation Series
Delaware State Flag
and beach scene
#1960 // April 14, 1982
(ex pane of 50 different stamps)
State Bird & Flower of
Blue Hen Chicken
(Dendragapus obscursus)
and Peach Blossom
#1633 // February 23, 1976
(ex pane of 50 different stamps)
American Bicentennial Series
Delaware State Flag

#2336 // July 4, 1987 // Dover, DE
Delaware Statehood
Ratification of the Constitution
on December 7, 1787

Early version of Delaware's Coat of arms, 1776

Farmer, holding a sailing ship in his left hand,
representing the central role of farming to the state
and New Castle County's shipbuilding industry;

Shield with symbols representing
Sussex County (sheaf of wheat), Kent County (ear of corn),
Delaware River (blue stripe), and animal husbandry (ox);

Militiaman, representing the crucial role of the citizen-soldier
to the maintenance of American liberties

#3568 // April 4, 2002
(ex pane of 50 stamps, one for each state)
Greetings from Delaware

Illustration of contemporary postcard
in the style of the 1930s/1940s

View Delaware state quarter
View Delaware state map
View Delaware clock

The state, the river, the bay, and an Indian tribe (originally Lenni Lenape)
are named in honor of Sir Thomas West, Baron de la Warr (* 1577, † 1618),
governor of the English Colony of Virgina.
Delaware was the first state to ratify the US constitution on December 7, 1787.
Land Area
rounded mi2 [km2]
1,954 [5.061]
ranked 49th
(census 2010)
ranked 45th
Population Density
per mi2 [km2] of land area
461 [177]
ranked 7th
The State of Delaware has three counties.


// Elmar R. Göller // All rights reserved // Contact // Publishing Information