US Postage Stamps // Philatelic Project // The Federal States


Arkansas // Little Rock, AR // Southern Region // Central Time
(The Natural State)
Territory established[1]: July 4, 1819
Statehood granted: June 15, 1836 // 25th state

Secession from Union:

May 6, 1861
Confederacy joined: May 18, 1861
Civil War: April 12, 1861 - May 9, 1865
Readmitted to Congress: June 22, 1868
End of Reconstruction: November 10, 1874
[1] Arkansas was formed out of land from the Louisiana Purchase.
The area of the state was smaller than the original territory. The western leftover area of the territory after statehood had post offices that continued for some years to use an Arkansas abbreviation in the postmarks, although they were really located in the unorganized "Indian Country".
[View map of Lousiana Purchase]

#4278 // June 14, 2008
(self-adhesive coil definitive)
Flags of Our Nation Series
Arkansas State Flag
and wood duck
#1956 // April 14, 1982
(ex pane of 50 different stamps)
State Bird & Flower of
Mocking Bird
(Mimus polyglottus)
and Apple Blossom
#1657 // February 23, 1976
(ex pane of 50 different stamps)
American Bicentennial Series
Arkansas State Flag

#782 // June 15, 1936 // Little Rock, AR
Arkansas Statehood

Arkansas Post,
Old State House, State Capitol
#2167 // January 3, 1986 // Little Rock, AR
150th Anniversary of
Arkansas Statehood

Old State House, Little Rock, AR

#3564 // April 4, 2002
(ex pane of 50 stamps, one for each state)
Greetings from Arkansas

Illustration of contemporary postcard
in the style of the 1930s/1940s

View Arkansas state quarter
View Arkansas state map
View Arkansas clock

The state name Arkansas is the French pronunciation of the word "akakaze",
meaning "land of downriver people", which is used in the Algonquian
language to name the Quapaw Indian tribe.
The pronunciation of Arkansas ['ɑː kənsɔː / ar-ken-saw]
was made official by an act of the state legislature in 1881.
Land Area
rounded mi2 [km2]
52,068 [134.856]
ranked 27th
(census 2010)
ranked 32nd
Population Density
per mi2 [km2] of land area
56 [22]
ranked 34th
The State of Arkansas has 75 counties.


// Elmar R. Göller // All rights reserved // Contact // Publishing Information